Letter from Ralph Vaughan Williams to Joseph Cooper

Letter No.: 
[October 1946]

The White Gates

Dear Cooper
That is good news. - To save time & energy - I suggest that you get in touch with the pianists & we will all 4 meet somewhere where there are two pftes - would you get in touch with Phyllis & Cyril & fix up a date as early as possible - I am fairly free at present.1
As regards the conductor I think all he will want will be the extra bit in the Finale which is not in the score - could you have an extra copy made of that?
Yrs sincerely
R Vaughan Williams

1. Joseph Cooper was making the version of the Piano Concerto in C major, Catalogue of Works 1931/3, for two pianos which was first performed on 22 November 1946 by Cyril Smith and Phyllis Sellick.


Location of original letter:

Shelfmark of original letter: 
MS Mus. 1752
General notes: 

Date from context.