Letter from Ralph Vaughan Williams to Joseph Cooper

Letter No.: 
Nov 13 [1946]

Dorking 3055

Dear Cooper
I hear you are probably able to come to the BBC on Nov 21 at 2.30 (Maida Vale) to play the orchestral part of the Concerto on a 3rd pianoforte.
I do hope you can come. Meanwhile have you got a spare copy of the extra bit in the last movement, and if so, could you send it direct to
Sir Adrian Boult
BBC. Broadcasting House
Also - will you check for the band parts that the extra bit is 27 bars and is from 49A to 50
Yours sincerely
R Vaughan Williams

1. Joseph Cooper had made a version of the Piano Concerto in C major, Catalogue of Works 1931/3, for two pianos which was first performed on 22 November 1946 by Cyril Smith and Phyllis Sellick.  See VWL4230.


Location of original letter:

Shelfmark of original letter: 
MS Mus. 1752
General notes: 

Year from context. In the hand of AVW, signed by VW.